Burnsville is one of thirteen municipalities from across the state that will receive assistance with bicycle and pedestrian planning, thanks to a grant awarded this fall by the N.C. Department of Transportation Bicycle and Pedestrian Planning Grant Initiative. The program helps North Carolina communities develop a comprehensive strategy for expanding bicycle and pedestrian facilities, while improve the safety of the transportation network.

Steering Committee members, Town Staff, and NCDOT will be assisted in the development of the plan by VHB, a transportation planning firm. The firm will coordinate an estimated 4 meetings to assess current conditions, prioritise projects, and develop an implementation plan.
The final plan should support a long-range and cohesive vision that improves safety and comfort, and  promotes economic activity in Burnsville.

Steering Committee
Denise Collier – Burnsville Town Councilor
Abe Byrd – Planning Board
Heather Hockaday – Town Manager
Brian Buchanan – Zoning Administrator, Police Chief
Shane Dale – Public Works Director
Jamie McMahan – EDC Director
Shell McCall – Director of PATH
Christy Wood – Director of Chamber of Commerce
Megan Willis- Town Citizen
Marc Poland – Local bike advocate/ride organizer